Crackdown on retail crime

Connect FM
Crackdown on retail crime

Police in Wellingborough ‘popped up’ in the Swansgate Centre on Thursday 1 December, when they took over an empty shop as part of their Christmas crackdown on crime and anti-social behaviour.

During the festive period, officers will be holding surgeries at the shop and in other parts of the town centre, where they will be on hand to chat to shoppers and local residents about any concerns they may have about their local area.

They will also be sharing useful safety and crime prevention advice as well as giving out bells and alarms to anyone who may be vulnerable to purse or bag theft.

Officers believe their presence in the centre will also act as a deterrent to potential shoplifters and will be working closely with local retailers to identify offenders and deal robustly with those who commit crime.

They will also be carrying out extra patrols in the run up to Christmas and the New Year.

Shoppers are invited to come along and meet officers during their surgeries at the shop in the Swansgate Centre (which is above the escalator near to the Midland Road entrance) on the following dates:
•Tuesday 6 December, 1-2pm
•Wednesday 7 December, 2-3pm
•Tuesday 13 December, 1-2pm
•Wednesday 14 December, 1-2pm
•Tuesday 20 December, 2-3pm
•Wednesday 21 December, 12-1pm
•Thursday 29 December, 1-2pm
•Friday 30 December, 1-2pm
•Wednesday 4 January, 1-2pm
•Saturday 7 January, 12-1pm

They will also be at the following locations on the weekends up to Christmas:
•Morrisons – Saturday 3 Dec, 1pm to 4pm
•Aldi – Sunday 4 Dec, 1pm to 4pm
•B&M Stores – Saturday 10 Dec, 1pm to 4pm
•Swansgate Centre – Sunday 11 Dec, 1pm to 4pm
•Swansgate Centre – Saturday 17 Dec, 1pm to 4pm
•Castlefields – Sunday 18 Dec, 1pm to 4pm

Comments

Leave a Reply

Latest

More